Community Services is assigned the responsibility of updating and amending the North Dakota State Building Code. Community Services is not involved in the enforcement of the State Building Code. This is the responsibility of jurisdictions that elect to adopt and enforce building codes.

If a city, county, or township elects to adopt and enforce building codes, it must adopt and enforce the State Building Code. However, a jurisdiction is permitted to further amend the State Building Code to conform to local needs. Fully chartered home rule cities may adopt something other than the State Building Code, but at the present time, all that enforce a building code have elected to adopt the same individual codes that make up the State Building Code.

The North Dakota Legislative Assembly has mandated that the state building code consist of the International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code (IRC), International Mechanical Code (IMC), and International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC). These are nationally recognized codes published by the International Code Council and updated nationally every three years. On Sept. 7, 2022 eligible cities and counties, along with eligible members of the Building Code Advisory Committee, adopted the 2021 updates to the IBC, IRC, IMC, and IFGC and the proposed amendments. The 2021 versions of the International Energy Conservation Code and the International Existing Building Code and proposed amendments to these codes were also adopted. The new North Dakota State Building Code went into effect Jan. 1, 2023.

2023 ND State Building Code Book

2023 Code Enforcing Jurisdictions

2020 ND State Building Code Book

2022 Code Enforcing Jurisdictions

Code Amendment Submittal

For information about the State Building Code or to submit a Code Amendment, please contact Ben Faul at (701) 328-5316.