In 2003 the legislative assembly created North Dakota Century Code section 54-21.3-08, to establish a manufactured home installation program. The law requires the Division of Community Services to adopt rules establishing a manufactured home installation program for all manufactured homes built in accordance with the manufactured homes construction and safety standards under 24 CFR 3280, adopted pursuant to the Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act [42 U.S.C. 5401 et seq.]. The law is in response to the 2000 Manufactured Housing Improvement Act that requires a state to have a manufactured home installation program, or to have the federal government impose an installation program.
All new manufactured homes installed in North Dakota for residential purposes must be installed by an installer licensed by the Division of Community Services and inspected by an inspector licensed by the Division of Community Services. The installer must first apply for, and receive, an authorization to install the home from a licensed inspector. A minimum of 2 inspections are required on a double wide home, and 1 inspection on a single wide home. The homes are installed to the manufactured home installation standards provided by the factory that built the home. Any deviations from these standards must be engineered for that home. Once the home is installed and meets the installation requirements, an insignia will be attached to the home to show it passes the inspections.
Prospective installers and inspectors can take the online course to obtain their license or attend the annual training held by the Department of Commerce. Licenses are valid from July 1st through June 30th of the following year. Installers must carry liability insurance and a surety bond. Refresher courses and testing are held every three years. Please see the administrative rules for more details or contact Rory Hoffmann at 701-328-5386 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Manufactured Home Installation Program FAQ
The licensing for the manufactured home installers and inspectors will expire June 30, 2023. Anyone wishing to renew their license must do so by June 30, 2023, or they will no longer be able to install or inspect new manufactured homes in North Dakota.
Active Registered Installers and Certified Inspectors must complete the enclosed Registration Application (SFN 58299).
The Registration and Certification fee is set by law in the Manufactured Home Installation Program administrative rules. The set fee for the training is to help offset the cost of the training and the cost of the facility.
Installers and Inspectors Renewal Fee - $150.00
Participating Jurisdiction Inspector Renewal Fee - $50.00
Any potential new installers or inspectors, or anyone that received their license this past year by taking the online course, must attend the full day training and pass the required test. This training will be held June 13, 2023 from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM at ND Department of Commerce, 1600 E. Century Ave Suite 6 (North Door), Bismarck, ND.
The application along with all fees must be sent to our office by June 4, 2023.
New Installer and Inspector Fee: $225.00 (includes license fee, training, and
Find an Inspector or Installer
Manufactured Home Installation Inspectors
Manufactured Home Installation Installers
North Dakota Manufactured Home Installation Program Software
Become a Licensed Inspector or Installer
Manufactured Home Online Training Link
Registered Installer and Inspector Manufactured Home Application (SFN58299)
Application for Manufactured Home Installation Insignia (SFN58344)
Manufactured Home Complaint (SFN53819)
Manufactured Housing Installation Application (SFN58353)
Monthly Use Report for Issued Installation Insignias (SFN58347)
Surety Bond (SFN58388)
Manufactured Home Installation Inspection Checklist (SFN60119)
State Designated by HUD as a State Administrative Agency For Manufactured (Mobile) Homes
Effective May 9, 2003, the State of North Dakota became the 38th state to be designated by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as a State Administrative Agency (SAA). The designation is for "conditional" approval, which means that the state's role will be limited to receiving and processing consumer complaints about construction related problems.
If you have a construction or installation related complaint about a manufactured (mobile) home, complete and submit the Manufactured Home Complaint Form (SFN 53819) to Community Services. We will forward the complaint to the appropriate parties. Together they will be responsible for verifying the existence of a problem and determining responsibility for resolving the problem.
North Dakota does not have a dispute resolution program. The Dispute Resolution Program is administered by HUD.
The HUD Manufactured Home Dispute Resolution Program (DRP) provides timely resolution of disputes between manufacturers, retailers and installers when the parties cannot agree on a solution to a construction and/or safety defect with a manufactured home. To learn which states have a dispute resolution program administered by HUD, and how to submit a request for dispute resolution, visit the HUD Manufactured Home DRP website at www.huddrp.net.
For more information about the program, contact Rory Hoffmann at (701) 328-5386.
Manufactured Home Complaint (SFN53819)