Manufactured Homes

Medium

Manufactured home

Manufactured Home Installation Program FAQ

 

The licensing for the manufactured home installer and inspectors will expire June 30, 2022. Anyone wishing to renew their license must do so by June 30, 2022, or they will no longer be able to install or inspect new manufactured homes in North Dakota.

2022-2023 Manufactured Home Installer and Inspector Memo

Active registered installers and certified inspectors must complete the Registration Application (SFN 58299).  

Refresher courses will be held in Fargo on June 7, 2022 and Bismarck on June 15, 2022. Please indicate which training you will be attending on the application. The Registration and Certification fee is set by law in the Manufactured Home Installation Program administrative rules. The set fee for the training is to help offset the cost of the training and the cost of the facility.

  • Active Installers and Inspectors License and Training Fee:  $150.00
  • Participating Jurisdiction Inspector License Fee:  $50.00
  • Guidelines Training Manual (if needed):  $25.00


Any potential NEW installers or inspectors, or anyone that received their license this past year by taking the online course, must attend the full day training and pass the required test. This training will be held June 16, 2022 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at the WSI Multipurpose Room, 1600 E. Century Avenue, Suite 6, Bismarck ND.  (north door)

  • New installer and Inspector Fee: $225.00 (includes license fee, training, and training manual)

Applications must be completed, notarized, and returned with payment by end of day, May 27, 2022 to:

         Department of Commerce
         Community Services Division
         PO Box 2057
         Bismarck, ND 58502-2057

OR

Email completed application and all necessary forms to Rory Hoffman. To pay by credit card, call Tammy Heick at (701) 328-5305.

There will be a $25 late fee if the application and all required information is not received before May 28.  

      

 

Find an Inspector or Installer

Manufactured Home Installation Inspectors

Manufactured Home Installation Installers

North Dakota Manufactured Home Installation Program Software


Become a Licensed Inspector or Installer

Manufactured Home Online Training Link


Helpful Links

HUD's Manufactured Housing

Medium
Complaint Process

State Designated by HUD as a State Administrative Agency For Manufactured (Mobile) Homes

Effective May 9, 2003, the State of North Dakota became the 38th state to be designated by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as a State Administrative Agency (SAA). The designation is for "conditional" approval, which means that the state's role will be limited to receiving and processing consumer complaints about construction related problems.

If you have a construction or installation related complaint about a manufactured (mobile) home, complete and submit the Manufactured Home Complaint Form (SFN 53819) to Community Services.  We will forward the complaint to the appropriate parties. Together they will be responsible for verifying the existence of a problem and determining responsibility for resolving the problem.

North Dakota does not have a dispute resolution program. The Dispute Resolution Program is administered by HUD.  

The HUD Manufactured Home Dispute Resolution Program (DRP) provides timely resolution of disputes between manufacturers, retailers and installers when the parties cannot agree on a solution to a construction and/or safety defect with a manufactured home. To learn which states have a dispute resolution program administered by HUD, and how to submit a request for dispute resolution, visit the HUD Manufactured Home DRP website at www.huddrp.net.
 

For more information about the program, contact Rory Hoffmann at (701) 328-5386.

 

Manufactured Home Complaint (SFN53819)

Retailer and Distributor Q&A