Minutes of the

EMPOWER NORTH DAKOTA COMMISSION

September 8, 2021 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Workforce Safety Insurance 1600 E. Century Avenue, Bismarck ND Onsite and via TEAMS meeting

Members present:

James Leiman, Jason Bohrer, Al Christianson, Danette Welsh, Jay Skabo, Ron Ness, Dale Niezwaag, Mike Rud, David Straley

Ex Officio Members:

Lt. Governor Sanford, Stacey Dahl, Julie Voeck **Public present:** Call in via Microsoft TEAMS platform

CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME

Chairman James Leiman called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m., welcoming members and guests.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Christianson and seconded by Rud to approve the minutes of June 9, 2021. Motion carried unanimously.

BISMARCK STATE COLLEGE (BSC) NEW POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTION Dave Farnsworth, GRE Dr. Doug Jensen, President of BSC Alicia Lunde, BSC

Dave Farnsworth, and Doug Jensen, presented the future of BSC, in pursuing a new mission as a polytechnic institution. With the new program, integration of a flexible career pathway, project base, expert opinions, applied research to real problems, and industry insight are all part of the solution.

As a polytechnic institution, BSC will offer technical degrees that cross disciplines and build upon each other. The polytechnic programs are developed in partnership with employers, alumni, and other working professionals.

Dave asked the commission members for their support to drive the program, with membership of seven to nine industry leaders.

UPDATE on ENVIRONMENTAL SOCIAL GOVERNANCE (ESG) and PROJECTS Chairman Leiman

A September virtual workshop is planned to discuss ESG, inviting the commission members. This will be private sector led, ensuring companies of all sizes have documentation necessary for ESG compliance.

CLEAN SUSTAINABLE ENERGY AUTHORITY (CSEA)

Lt. Governor and Al Anderson

North Dakota's Clean Sustainable Energy Authority (CSEA) was established by the Legislature in 2021 to enhance the production of clean energy, make the state a world leader in the production of clean sustainable energy, and to diversify and grow the state's economy. The program received appropriation of \$25 million for grants with \$250 million in a line of credit from the Bank of ND.

Lt. Governor Sanford chairs the authority, made up of eight voting members and eight non-voting members on the technical committee. Al Anderson, former Commerce Commissioner, leads the authority as the Executive Director. Al asked the members to review the parameters of the program with their suggestions to the program.

Members discussed the need for more synergy between the agriculture/energy industry. An organized annual summit of the two sectors was discussed, inviting private industry, locals, and a possible partner with Emerging Prairie. The ag/energy summit would support the successes of each other, without being government enforced. James asked for member support from the ag and energy sectors to organize the guest list and solid objectives to move the summit forward before the end of the year.

UPDATES FROM COMMISSIONERS & STRATEGY DISCUSSION

Members gave a brief update to their industry.

FUTURE MEETINGS

Q4 – December 8, 1:30 – 3:30, location to be determined. This meeting may be in conjunction with the Ag/Energy Alliance summit.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No comments were made.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion carried by Rud and seconded by Skabo to adjourn the meeting. Meeting was adjourned unanimously at 3:30 p.m.

James Leiman	11/02/21
James Leiman, Chairman	Date
Sherri Frieze	11/02/21
Sherri Frieze, Boards and Commissions E.A.	Date